Established in 1919, McCone County was named in honor of state senator George McCone. It is located in northeastern Montana, south of the Missouri River. It is bordered to the east by Richland and Dawson Counties, to the south by Prairie and Garfield Counties, and to the west by Garfield County.

McCone County encompasses 2,594 square miles. Circle is the single incorporated community in the county and also the county seat. Other communities include Brockway and Vida.

Mission Statement

McCone County seeks to provide quality services to its citizens with integrity, fiscal accountability, and positive leadership through encouraging public participation, communication, collaboration, and innovation in working to build a strong community.

DISCLAIMER: No endorsement is intended or made of any hypertext link, product, service, or information either by its inclusion or exclusion from this page or site. While all attempts are made to insure the correctness and suitability of information under our control and to correct any errors brought to our attention, no representation or guarantee can be made as to the correctness or suitability of that information or any linked information presented, referenced, or implied. All critical information should be independently verified. Any questions should be directed to the administrators of this or any other specific sites.